Honey Applesauce Recipe (and Winners Announced!)

img_2287

I have winners to announce! Thanks to all who entered my “Riley’s Favorite Things” Giveaway! The two second prize winners who will each receive an Amazon gift card are Oma Renate and Trina Greer! And the grand prize winner of the Riley’s Favorite Things prize pack is Rebecca Booth! I’ll be emailing all three of you shortly. Congratulations!

Now that On Board for Romance has released, I’m turning my attention to the next book in my Homegrown Love series. A Recipe for Romance is a fun story to write, and to make it even more run, the heroine (Olivia Jennings) is a cookbook author. That’s giving me the chance to put together some cool recipes to include in the book.

Today I made Honey Applesauce and I want to share the recipe with you. I made a last minute decision to add honey, and I’m so glad I did!

Ingredients:

8 apples, peeled and cored (I used 4 Fuji and 4 Gala, but I think you could use any combo you want)

img_2286

Slice apples thinly. (just like for an apple pie)

1/3 cup water

1/3 cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon honey (I used local honey, which is my preference!)

1 tablespoon cinnamon

You could stop here, if you want, but I also added a mix of nutmeg, ginger, and allspice. If you want a “real” measurement, add about a teaspoon of each. I sprinkled liberally, but I like all those flavors.

img_2289

Toss ingredients in crock pot and cook on high for 4-5 hours. (You could also cook on low for 8 hours if you wanted to cook overnight and have it ready for breakfast!) As an added bonus, the house smelled amazing while the applesauce was cooking!

After about three and a half hours, I used a potato masher to mash the apples, then I let them continue to cook. I like my applesauce to be a little chunkier, but you could make it much smoother if that’s your preference by continuing to mash it together.

We ate applesauce for dessert tonight, and tomorrow I plan to put it on top of oatmeal for breakfast. It was delicious hot, and I think it will be just as yummy cold!

img_2285

Keep an eye out for more recipes! (and even more exciting, keep an eye out for a big announcement next week!)

 

One thought on “Honey Applesauce Recipe (and Winners Announced!)

Leave a Reply

