Love, Actually

So, it’s Valentine’s Day. Hmm. I’m not exactly a fan. And it has nothing to do with the fact that I still check the “single” box. I feel about V-Day the same way I feel about New Year’s Eve. It’s one of those holidays that seems forced.

Can this be true? Is it right for someone who writes romance novels to not be a fan of Valentine’s Day? 🙂 Well, let me make a confession…I didn’t set out to write romance novels. It just sort of happened. Somewhere along the way, I started to realize…every story is a love story. Sure, they might be disguised as suspense. Or mystery. Or fantasy. But more often than not, there is a love element in there. Sometimes it isn’t romantic love. But love, nevertheless. Which is how I came to write about love. Because that seems to be the central theme in our lives when you strip everything else away.

So that gets me to thinking about L-O-V-E. So many different kinds of love. Such a tiny little word with so many different meanings…

I love God. And my family. And my dogs. And my new Prada purse. I love sleeping in. And my friends. And Peppermint Mochas from Starbucks. I love clean sheets. And my DVR. And when I write “the end” and hit send. I love college football. And hot summer days. And being snowed in.

And I don’t love any of those things in exactly the same way.

So, even though I’m single–and from what I’m seeing on Facebook and Twitter, single people are supposed to resent being reminded of love today–well I don’t! Love is wonderful. Love is powerful. I may not have romantic love in my life right now (anyone know any nice, normal, single guys? haha!) but I have lots of love in my life. And, as any good romance heroine, I have the hope that true love is right around the corner.

So no matter what box you check today, I hope you have a wonderful Valentine’s Day, celebrating the love that is in your life!

Song of the day…The Power of Love by Huey Lewis–I thought it was fitting!

Leave a Reply

